Two new shawls and more

I have been knitting up a storm. The Mystery KAL by Ysolda Teague has really kept me at it and I have also been working on the Happy Street shawl. Both are now finished, blocked and the man was kind enough to take pictures with me yesterday.
First up, the Follow Your Arrow Mystery KAL. I am so happy how it turned out.

Follow Your Arrow

Follow Your Arrow

Follow Your Arrow

Follow Your Arrow

Follow Your Arrow
Pattern: Follow Your Arrow by Ysolda Teague
Clues: AABAA
Yarn: Juno Fibre Arts Milly Singles in Boudoir and Touch Wood
Needles: 4mm

I am very happy with the outcome and am already considering another shawl with different mix of clues. Each clue has 2 options and they all work together, no matter how you mix them together. And she gives you the option of having one or two colours, but seriously, you can use as many as you want really. And some variegated yarns work very well with this awesome pattern.
The KAL has been a lot of fun and I have learned a whole lot. I set up with picking clues that I found interesting and would include some technique that I had not done before or had done little of, some new shapes and forms etc.

The second shawl, Happy Street by Vera Välimäki, is the exact opposite from the MKAL. Just garter stitch and short rows, the perfect TV knitting project. And even if the rows become veeeery long, it somehow never got boring. I love Vera’s patterns, this is the third one I have done and they have all been perfectly written, and very easy to execute with beautiful results. If you haven’t done any of her patterns, I would recommend that you try them out for a very joyful knitting experience!

Happy Street

Happy Street

Happy Street

Happy Street

Happy Street
Happy Street by Veera Välimäki
Yarn: Hedgehog Fibres Sock in Shamrock and Madelinetosh tosh sock in Jade, grey is dyed by a friend. Also sock yarn.
Needles: 3.5mm

Work has been very busy, but the busy season and the end of year balancing is getting very close to being done, wooohoo! And next week me and my mother and my daughters are going away to my grandfathers cabin in Skorradalur. I can’t wait to get away from the city for a couple of days and just relax with my girls. They are on winter break from school and so is my mom as she works in a school, I have plenty of vacation days so I am taking a few for this.

6 Comments

Filed under Clothes, Family, finish, Happy Dance, KAL, knitting, life, Other, photograpy, shawl, traveling, work, yarn

6 responses to “Two new shawls and more

  1. I just love those two shawls that you’ve made. I think the second one would be for me … the first one still a little bit too difficult (especially the KAL mystery side).
    Have fun at the cabin!
    Ann

  2. Fæ bara ekki nóg af að dást að þessum fallegu sjölum :) Leynigesturinn á happy street myndinni er líka mjög sætur!
    Vona að bústaðaferðin hafi verið dásamleg, sjáumst bráðum.

  3. Two really beautiful shawls – congrats, you can be very proud of them!

Leave a Reply

