New blanket finish

Me, my mom and my daughters went away to my grandfathers cabin on Wednesday and came home yesterday. It was wonderful to get away and we spent our time watching movies, soaking in the hot tub, playing cards and games, eating good food, watching the birds, drawing, my mother was sewing a dress for Sumarrós and I focused on finishing a blanket for a friend.

Skorradalur
Skorradalur, the view over the lake from the driveway to the cabin.

Kalaha match is on
My mother and daughters playing Kalaha. We love playing Kalaha, and Sumarrós is an awesome player. Off course she won almost every game (I won her once!)

The blanket has been a secret project since July last year. My very dear friend Hildur was at my house and wrapped herself in the Wave Blanket I made for Karítas last year. After that she expressed that she really wanted a blanket of her own, so me and our group of friends decided that we wanted to give her one. They bought the yarn and I made the blanket in between other projects. When I left on Wednesday I had about 70 squares left to do and I managed to finish the blanket on Friday night, boarder and all. It was made with a lot of love and warmth wrapped into every stitch and last night I walked over to Hildur’s house and gave it to her. She was very happy and wrapped the blanket around her and tells me she is still wrapped up in it, not about to let it go anytime soon.

Solid Granny Square Blanket

Solid Granny Square Blanket

Solid Granny Square Blanket

Solid Granny Square Blanket
Pattern: The classic granny square
Yarn: Stylecraft Special Double Knit (colors: bright pink, sunshine, lipstick, plum, royal, black and yaffa) except the neon green is Svarta Fåret Freja
Hook: 4.5mm

I used a little less than 2 skeins for all the colours except for the black one, I used a little more than 2 skeins of it as it is also used for the boarder. 420 squares, and I used Lucy’s amazing join as you go method to join the squares. The colours were very difficult to photograph, the orange and the green are neon colours but they look a bit washed out in the photos. They are much richer and nicer IRL so you just have to imagine how they really are.

Now I am focusing on some sock knitting, some test knitting for a friend and am about to start knitting wool sweaters for both myself and my daughters.

3 Comments

Filed under blanket, crochet, Family, finish, Friends, gifts, Happy Dance, knitting, life, Other, photograpy, socks, traveling, yarn

3 responses to “New blanket finish

  1. What a relaxing-sounding trip. I could use some time away to finish a couple of projects. I’ll work on that! Lovely blanket for your friend. It’s always nice to make things for people who appreciate them do much.

  2. How wonderful of you to make a blanket for your friend – it’s a lovely one. The view over the lake is beautiful, I can see how you can relax in a place like that.

Leave a Reply

