I finished Heart Sweet Bag, a freebie from Victori…

Image hosting by Photobucket
I finished Heart Sweet Bag, a freebie from Victoria Sampler, this evening. I am very happy with the outcome. Off course I had to change the colors (I love changing colors) and I also made the bag bigger than it is supposed to be and used backing fabric instead of using the same fabric for the back as the front. I stitched it on 28ct Quaker Linen, Cream colored from Zweigart and used Watercolors by Caron – Black Cherry for the hardanger stitches and DMC Pearl Cotton #8 color 814 for the woven bars and the Doves eyes and the Blanket Stitch on the edge. I was having trouble with the Blanket Stitch yesterday but my mom (mom to the rescue!) came over today and she took one stitch and I was like “Well duuh! I knew that!” a real Homer Simpson moment for me! LOL! Thank you mom *kisses*

I backed the bag with this fabric and here you can see an up-close picture of the hardanger heart itself. It was a really fun and easy project, apart from the starting problems I had with the Blanket stitch. Now I just have to find some pretty ribbon to close it up with, and some wonderful smelling herbs to put in it. Or fill it up with stitching goodies and use it as a gift for a friend? Who knows!

For the next couple of days I am going to focus on the stocking again, as I want to try and finish it in february like I already mentioned :o)

And yes Von, I am now in LOVE with doing hardanger. I was so scared to do it at first, but now it is just a whole lot of fun and I am ready to learn something new, new stitches and techniques every day!

The little girl who had a birthday yesterday and we were supposed to go to the birthday party to last sunday is feeling better (thanks for the good thoughts). She just had a fever so her mom off course didn’t want to throw a party for a sick little girl. The party will be next weekend though. My sisters BF birthday party was a lot of fun though, the cakes and the pasta salad were great!!!

I better get to bed as it is already 1am! Where does the time go? I always feel like there must be some hours stolen from me every singe day!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I finished Heart Sweet Bag, a freebie from Victori…

  1. Von

    Yay!! So glad your mom was able to help you so quickly! It looks just lovely. :))
    So glad we have another hardanger convert, lol! It really is easy, and everyone is so impressed at the finished project.

  2. Bastet

    The bag is lovely! Isn’t it always the way though? You think you’re on the right track but back off uncertain and as soon as someone shows you the way you recognize the path.

  3. Carol

    Oh, what a lovely job you did!!

  4. Lili

    I’m in love with the whole bag! The hardanger is perfect and so beautiful, and the fabric you chose fits the whole style so well! Well done!
    Take care!

  5. Susimac

    Its really, really nice, and I love the fabric you have used to back it, it compliments it well.

  6. Rósa

    Beautiful colors. Maybe I’ll try and change the colors next time I do this bag. I’m glad your mom could help you.. sometimes we just need someone to tell us we’re doing it the right way.

  7. Barbara

    It looks great! I just love those rich colors your chose. Aren’t moms great when they come to the rescue like that?

    I think whoever is stealing hours from your days is pulling the same trick on me!

  8. Anne

    It is really lovely. I love the fabric also. I have never tried hardanger it look soooo hard. Well done.

  9. Ulla

    What a great bag.I agree this patterns is really beautiful and very useful

    Ulla in the north of Sweden sends you the best wishes

  10. deibpia

    vá hvað hann er flottur hjá þér..!
    Ég hlakka ekkert smá til að sjá hann með eigin augun og að fá að handfjatla hann pínu

Leave a Reply

