Valentines day.

Happy Valentines day to those that celebrate it.
It is not a tradition here in Iceland to celebrate it. Only very recently some people have started to celebrate it and it has become some kind of “trend”. I personally do not celebrate it.
We have our own traditions here. We have our own “love” days here. We have the Bóndadagur for the men, and Konudagur for the women. So we each get our seperate days, and I like that :o)

Bóndadagur (for the men) was in January and I gave Mio a perfume and we had sushi for dinner. He surpriced me on that day and brought me roses and also bought one big red rose for Sumarrós :o)

I have been stitching a lot on my stocking and am almost done with the snowmans coat. I will probably put an updated picture here tomorrow along with the MSAL :o)

Now, to make spaghetti for me and my loved ones.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Valentines day.

  1. Hafrún Ásta

    ég notaði nú bara daginn til að láta þá sem mér þykir vænt um vita af því. Bauð mömu og pabba og litla bróðir í mat. Lambalæri umm namm þetta var gott.

    I just use the day to let the people I love know that I do with out the cards & all just I’m extra nice to them all though I try to do that more often then these last years.

  2. Rósa

    I don’t celebrate Valentine’s day but I do like the thought of a special day for lovers. I don’t think we have that here in Iceland. We do have the seperate days for the husband and the wife, but I think those days have a different feel from the one I at least get from Valentine’s day. In my mind Valentine’s day is to celebrate love and the Icelandic konudagur and bóndadagur are to me more about appreciation for the other person. Maybe that’s wrong and maybe my views will change if I get involved with a guy.

    Sorry for the rambling 🙂

  3. Lili

    I like the idea of one day for men and another one for women. And also that “appreciation” dimension. This does not exclude anybody then, does it?
    Take care!

Leave a Reply

