Like mother, like daughter.

Like mother like daughter

Last night, me and Sumarrós stitched together. It was wonderful. Since me and my mother have the same respect and passion for needlework and crafts, and I know how much it has meant to me to have someone so close to me as my mother is have this respect for what I love the most, it feels wonderful to be able to share the same joy with my own daughter.
When I got home from work yesterday and she came home from a friends house the first thing she asked me was ‘Mom, can we stitch together tonight?’ And off course I said yes! It was wonderful.
She isn’t willing to share her progress yet since she wants to get a little more stitching done on her project before sharing a picture :o) Spoken like a true needleworker eh?

This picture was taken the same day we celebrated her birthday, after all the guests were gone. She was so excited to start stitching. She first sorted through her yarn and cut it to useable lenghts and then she sat down and started. She told me so many times ‘Mom, I really love stitching, don’t you?’ Adorable!

Sumarrós stitching

18 Comments

Filed under life, stitching

18 responses to “Like mother, like daughter.

  1. Erla Björk

    En yndisleg saga. Þið eruð líka ekkert smá sætar saman.

  2. aww that’s so cute! and wonderful that she enjoys to cross stitch!

  3. AWW, so sweet 🙂 Love the pics 🙂

  4. How lovely! Your daughters are so beautiful, just like you Linda!
    Thank you for sharing these moments of happiness.
    Take care, Lili

  5. How sweet! My daughter and I enjoy stitching together too! It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy!

  6. You both look so cute while sitting on the sofa !!! I, my DS and DD sometimes sit likewise too though they are crocheting.

  7. Brenda

    Honey, that’s the most precious thing I’ve seen in I don’t know how long!!

  8. all I can say is …”aawwww….!”
    I hope to do this with my daughters one day.

  9. I think this will be a treasured photo in years to come.
    I also had a little chuckle of you sitting with your computer on your knee – I wonder how many other stitchers do this same thing 😀

  10. Y’all look so cute sitting on the sofa stitching together. What a joy it must be to be able to share your passion with your daughter.

  11. Awe! My boyfriend asked me the other day why I wanted to have kids… I told him I wanted a daughter so I could teach her to stitch! hehe.

  12. Von

    What a cozy picture! I hope this is the first of many, many, many more stitchy togetherness. 😀

  13. Sveina

    Sætu sauma-mæðgur:)

  14. They are great photos, and what a lovely way to spend some quality mother/daughter time. I can’t wait till my 3yo DD is old enough to stitch with me.

  15. what a great picture! I hope you both have many many days like that 🙂 Neither of my sons stitch *grin* .. but my DIL does, when she finds the time lol

  16. http://amystitching.blogspot.com/
    Hi Linda, Lena Lou’s daughter Amy is 8 and has started stitching too. She’s got her own blog which she updates on occassion. Don’t know if you know Lena Lou at Homespun Hearts but she does wonderful stitching. Anyways, here’s Amy’s blog for Sumarros to check out. And a belated Happy birthday to her. Cheers Judy

Leave a Reply

