And now for something a little different.

Earlier this summer I saw this post on Helen’s blog (you really should check it out, she does the prettiest things). Her mother had sent her this adorable shoe pin cushion. I thought of my mom and her passion for collecting miniature shoes. She LOVES tiny shoes of all shapes and styles. She has a glass cabinet and two shelves are full of these pretty things. Whenever I go to the US, I try to buy her some. Her favorites are made by ‘Just The Right Shoe’ and are beautiful! I bought her 3 when I visited New York City in 2002 and I bought her 2 when I visited Florida last year. And friends and family know of this passion of hers and buy some for her whenever they can find them. My favorite of her collection is one that I bought her while in NYC. Click this link for a picture. It just fits her so well, being a seamstress and all :o) So, when I saw this post on Helen’s blog I knew I just had to make my mom something like that. Especially since my mother sews a lot and can always use cute pin cushions! So here is what I came up with. (you can click it for a bigger view)

Shoe pin cushion

Cute isn’t it? Now I am going to bake some muffins and invite my mom over for afternoon snacks at my house and surprise her with it :o)

11 Comments

Filed under Family, finish, Finishing, gifts, Happy Dance, life, stitching

11 responses to “And now for something a little different.

  1. Wow Linda, that’s gorgeous! Your mum will LOVE it!! Have a wonderful afternoon!!

  2. It is so cute well done your mom will love it.

  3. Erla Björk

    En sætt. Mamma þín verður örugglega hrifin. Frábærir litlu skórnir sem hún er að safna.

  4. Pretty!!! Your mom will love it!

  5. Your pine cushion is awesome!! I have never seen nor heard of the miniature shoes before. They are all so adorable! Where did you find them in Florida?

  6. Well done! It’s awesome. Makes me smile.

  7. That’a a cutie 🙂 You did a great job 🙂
    ((hugs))

  8. Wow you have been busy for sure. I love those ornaments and your mom’s gift is so special and unique.

  9. How cute! What a wonderful surprise to your mum 🙂

  10. Very cute pincushion, I hope your mother loves it.

  11. Your Mum is sure to love it, it is so cute.

Leave a Reply

