Back home from New York.

I am back home after a wonderful week in New York City. This was my third visit to the city and I think I fall in love with it a little bit more each time I visit. I was there in 2002 for two weeks, only for a day in 2006 and now for a week. Every time, I see something new, get new feelings about places, find more things I want to do and see and eat, visit old places that I love and fall in love with them all over again. It is just the perfect place to visit if you need to get away in my opinion. Can you tell I love it there? 🙂

Linda and The Empire State Building

This time I went to the movies twice (I had never been to the movies in the States before, and yes it is different from here) and saw Juno (by accident, we went to the wrong auditorium) and then we saw Be Kind, Rewind. Very different movies but both of them were great.
I had great food, including the best sushi I have ever had! Seriously, if you like sushi, or just Japanese food in general, and are visiting Manhattan be sure to go to Hiroshi Japanese Fusion, 585 3rd Avenue (BTW 38th & 39th) for the best Japanese food ever. The service is wonderful and the food to die for. Seriously. I will never forget it and will be sure to visit the place next time I go to New York. I also had amazing Indian food at Brick Lane in East Village. Yumm, yumm, yumm!
I also went to Outback Steakhouse, twice! First I had a steak and then we went there for lunch and had pasta, and that HUGE onion and cheesecake for desert. Everything was great and I love the dark bread that they serve there. It is so sweet and soft! I went to Yaffa for lunch with my friend Aimee and her friends Kasia and Erin, and had french pancakes with fresh fruit. I went to some diners. I went to a Mexican take-a-way and lots of other places. I had a bagel. Oh how I love bagels in NY with cream cheese.

I did a bunch of shopping. First of all I bought my new sweet amazing lovable camera, Canon Digital Rebel XTi. It is a dream! I am still learning how to use it, but oh how I love it already. I have wanted that camera for a long time! I bought it at B&H and that is another place that I absolutely love. It is so much fun shopping there. Or even just to go in there and look around!
I went to Toys R Us and bought toys for my girls. I become a kid again when I visit that store and see all the things they have to offer. I bought a bunch of clothes for them also. And for myself. Oh and shoes! I need to take pictures of them, they are so pretty!
I bought a bunch of movies and Nip/Tuck series 3 and 4. And books. To make it simple, I arrived in NY with one suitcase, but I left with two 😉 And I walked. I walked and walked and walked and loved every minute of it! Just taking in the city. Enjoying it. Aaah!

The trip home was not so great. It took over an hour to get to JFK because of the weather and traffic. The flight was delayed for about 45 minutes and then we waited for another 45 minutes on the airstrip just to get cleared for take of. And it was a bumpy ride for almost 5 hours all the way back home to Iceland. I have never experienced such an uncomfortable flight. But I made it, and my mom and my daughter Sumarrós were there to pick me up at the airport. We went to my parents house for breakfast and Karítas was there and it was SO good to see my daughters again! I was doing fine until Saturday/Sunday but then I started missing them really bad! It was great to get baby kisses and hugs and see the look on their faces when I gave them all their presents 🙂

I have gone through some of the pictures and added them to my flickr. You can see them here if interested.

7 Comments

Filed under life, traveling

7 responses to “Back home from New York.

  1. What a wonderful trip report. It made me hungry when you mentioned all those yummy food. Thank you for sharing your trip with you and welcome home.

  2. Welcome back, I see from the pictures that you had a really good time 🙂

  3. I’ve never been to New York, but I’d love to go! We have Outback Steakhouse here too (it’s a chain restaurant) and it’s one of my favorites too 🙂 You’re right the bread is DELCIOUS!!!

  4. helgabk

    Welcome back:o)
    I see you had fun!
    Helga

  5. Velkomin heim Linda. Frábært hvað þú skemmtir þér vel úti.

  6. I am glad you had such a great time honey!!

  7. Sounds like you had a wondeful trip! I love the fob. Very beautiful:)

Leave a Reply

