Little House Neighborhood – FINISHED!

I did it! I just finished this piece about 15 minutes ago! I must admit, it was almost difficult to finish it. I have enjoyed stitching this piece so much that I almost did not want to finish it. But I did and here are some pictures. I had to take them with flash since it is almost midnight, but I am going to try to get better shots and some close ups tomorrow if the brightness will be enough and if it will not be raining like it has been lately.

Little House Neighborhood finished
Little House Neighborhood by Diane Williams, Little House Needleworks
Fabric: 32ct Light Mocha Belfast
Threads: DMC, Crescent Colors and GAST
Started July 21st 2008 – Finished August 30th 2008

Little House Neighborhood finished

The text was changed out for a line in an Icelandic kids song. It says ‘Ein ég sit og sauma, inni í litlu húsi’ and that would translate to ‘Alone I sit and stitch, inside a little house’. It is a song that is very dear to me and has been for as long as I can remember. I decided that I wanted to change some elements of the design and bring it a little closer to home so to speak, make it a little more Icelandic. So that is why I changed the squirrels out for a cat and a bee since we do not have squirrels here. I decided not to stitch the white star on the blue house as I thought it looked a little too American. And I decided to stitch the houses in over-dyes to get the look of painted houses, or the houses here in Iceland (especially in the city center) who have corrugated iron on them. And the final touch was the changing of the words. And since I decided not to stitch the women on the original design, but send them inside stitching, this lyric seemed perfect for my piece. I am so in love with it. Now to go to my framers and find the perfect frame for it!

32 Comments

Filed under finish, Happy Dance, LHN, LHN SAL, stitching

32 responses to “Little House Neighborhood – FINISHED!

  1. Janice

    Linda….. love your stitching and the ways in which you have personalized your neighborhood!

  2. Gorgeous. And how interesting to learn about the houses in Iceland. Nice job personalizing this piece.

  3. Guðbjörg

    Til hamingju með “klárið”. Skil vel að það hafi verið erfitt að taka síðustu sporin. Þetta er alveg frábært hjá þér og kemur flott út.

  4. Oh my!
    I can’t believe you finished it!
    It’s GORGEOUS and I love your changes to the piece.
    Congratulations on this stunning finish and I can’t wait so see it framed.

  5. Kristen from MA

    Wow Linda, it’s gorgeous! I love the way you made the piece your own.

    Congratulations!

  6. Gorgeous alveg hreint. Þú varst nú ekki lengi að þessu. Þetta lítur út fyrir að vera frekar stórt stykki.

  7. Barbie

    Linda,
    How fabulous!! Your piece is beautiful – you did such a magnificent job. I LOVE all the changes you made to personalize it!! You SHOULD be proud and doing a happy dance!!
    Barbie

  8. Irene

    It looks wonderful, love the colors and the changes are just great !

  9. Valda

    It’s gorgeous!!! I LOVE the changes you made to it and the verse that you added is perfect! It’s just wonderful!

  10. CJ

    Your interpretation is lovely and your stitching is impeccable. It is so beautiful. Well done!!

  11. Absolutely gorgeous! I love the changes you made, especially using the over-dyes for the houses. I’m going to have to “borrow” that idea. 🙂

  12. Your stitching looks adorable!

  13. valentynka

    It’s a wonderful! Congratulations!

  14. A wonderful neighbourhood! I love the way you have personalised it especially the verse.

  15. Its so wonderful I love how you have personalised it and the houses stitched in the overdye are just so perfect. Congratulations on your beautifully stitched piece, its awesome – (can you tell how wonderful I think yours looks LOL!)

  16. Wow, you have finished it! Your houses look wonderful, I also like the way you personalised it!

  17. It´s SO beautiful. I can´t wait to see it with my own eyes. Enjoy your finished piece.

  18. It’s wonderful! You’ve done an outstanding job. I love the changes that you made in it. Congrats on the finish!

  19. Congratulations! Wonderful work! 🙂

  20. AWESOME!!!! Great piece, indeed! I LOVE the blue house on the left… Your changes are gorgeous!

  21. Kathy K

    Fantastic!! I love it. You did a wonderful job on this and your changes are perfect.

  22. Congratulations on a beautiful finish! Great way to personalize it…!!

  23. Wow you are done … It looks great. Look forward to seeing it with my own eyes & framed.

  24. Congratulations on great finish! Very beautiful 🙂

  25. Sissú

    Til hamingju með klárið, þetta er svo fallegt hjá þér og kemur offsalega vel út með “Ein ég sit og sauma”

  26. What a beautiful finish! I love the way you have personalized it. Congratulations! Susi

  27. Hi Linda,

    Your neighbourhood looks wonderful!
    Congratulations on this beautiful finish.
    I love the changes that you’ve made to
    reflect your own life and home. And
    using the variegated threads for the
    houses looks fantastic.

    Cheers

  28. Beautiful finish! I love how you have altered the design slightly to make it more your own. The overdyed threads are a great touch too. Congratulations!!

  29. No wonder you are “so in love with it”… Its gorgeous!!!!!!!! =) Well done! I just LOVE the way we can make each piece unique and close to ourselves when we make those very subtle changings!I love the effect you got at the houses. Clever, neat, priceless. Thumbs up for you!

  30. I love how you made this piece your own and included those things found on Iceland.

    As always, your stitching is incredible!

  31. Renee

    How absolutely beautiful! I love the little changes you made to personalize it! : ) Great stitching!

Leave a Reply

