Trying to go through some stuff – Inspired by Becky

After seeing this post from Becky, I made a decision that I had been thinking about for a while. I went through some of my stash and pulled out some projects that I really love and would like to start working on and hopefully finish sooner than later. I have so much stash and I also decided that the year 2009 will be a ‘Stitch from your Stash year’ for me. At least the first 6 months or so. Then we will see how I am doing and continue from there. To me that means no purchasing new charts and projects. I will continue in my FOTM club and I will be allowed to buy threads or other things needed to finish a project that I already have. Thankfully I have a ton that is kitted up, or very close to being so. I pulled all of these projects out last night and put them in a box.

My box of projects

This box contains the following projects:
Folk Heart Needle Roll from Shepherds Bush – full kit – FINISHED October 19th 2008
Antique Heart Needle Roll from Shepherds Bush – full kit
Summer Days Needle Roll – a gift from Paula – full kit
Forget me not Needle Roll from The Sweetheart Tree – a gift from Paula – needs some beads (haven’t checked if I have them or not, but I am sure I can use some of the ones I already have)
Cherry Blossoms Biscornu from The Sweetheart Tree – full kit
Rhodes Butterfly Biscornu from The Sweetheart Tree – full kit
Necessities Sampler by Little House Needleworks – pattern and I have the threads and am sure I have some fabric *giggle*
Barnabee’s Bride from Just Nan – full kit
And Many More Needlebook from Just Nan – full kit and finishing kit
Wandering Shepherd from Shepherd’s Bush – full kit
Trousse aux Fleurs Bleues from C’mon Monde – pattern and I have the threads, buttons and fabric
Gilded Dragonfly Scissor Purse from Just Nan – full kit
Folding Cross Needlebook from Indigo Rose – I have everything for this
Christmas Workshop from Just Nan – I need 3 WDW threads for this. Straw, Cocoa and Collards
Victoria’s Quaker from A Mon Amie Pierre – I have VC silks for this. Just need to find the right fabric in my stash
Simply Romantic sampler by The Sweetheart Tree – full kit
The Peacock Stitching Chair from The Cat’s Whiskers – I have everything for this
Real Roses from The Drawn Thread – I have everything for this, silks included
The Little Woman Series from Little House Needleworks – I have the chartpacks, need to find the right fabric Quilting finished on October 27th 2008 Gardening finished on November 7th 2008 Reading Finished on November 19th. Baking finished on December 30th 2008
Flea Market Souvenir from Blackbird Designs – I have everything for this – Finished  February 20th 2009

Off course there are many many many (reads as endless) other projects that I want to get finished. I am quite happy with this selection of mine. It has a nice variety of patterns and finishing techniques so I should definitely not get bored! And then there are the WIP’s and UFO’s. I realized I don’t have many UFO’s, but I sure have a lot of WIP’s that I want to get done. My focus piece is my Stitcher’s Stocking because I really want to have it done for Christmas this year so that I can hang up my stocking with my girls stockings. Sumarrós even asked me the other day if I wasn’t going to ‘Hurry up and finish the thing’ LOL! Love that kid!

So, do you believe I can do it? Go on a stash diet and stitch from my stash? I really need your support in this. Only about 3 months to go! Eeeeek!

Kudos to Becky for the idea and for breaking the ice!

16 Comments

Filed under Friends, lists, Other, stash, stitching

16 responses to “Trying to go through some stuff – Inspired by Becky

  1. Hljómar ekki svo galið Siggi yrði allavega voða feginn.

  2. Yesterday i read Becky’s post, too. I would try and do the same, I have lots of stash waiting to be stitched for years! It will be onoe of my “good intentions” for the new year. It would be a good thing for my budget also, although I know it will be soooo hard keeping my “clicking” fingers away from the keyboard!😉 Thanks for inspiring me!

  3. What a neat idea! I love it!
    I just have to go through my stash and do something like this.
    I think you’ll do just fine… temptations are everywhere but how proud will you be when you don’t give in to them.
    Hugs

  4. Irene

    I also joined Becky’s group. Hope to get lots of stash done.

  5. I propose an SAL for Flea Market Souvenir. I too have everything for that one.

    Also, kudos is Greek so they spell it with a “K”, but I shouldn’t say anything at all because your English (and Greek!) is waaaaaaay better than my Icelandic.🙂

  6. Þetta er heilmikill listi! Þú vinnur þetta bara smám saman🙂

  7. Hrönn

    Gangi þér vel Linda mín. Er búin að ver í banni að kaupa efni eða garn í 7 mánuði svo ég veit alveg hvað þú ert að fara í og þetta er ekki le´tt….

  8. You have done a great job with organizing and getting ready! I see several on your list that I have as well🙂 I look forward to seeing these stitched🙂

    AND, thank you🙂 (((((hugs)))))

  9. Terrific selection! =)
    What is the designer of the Stocking? You better listen to the kid! Lol.

  10. I have the exact same Just Nan’s in my ‘to finish’ also! I’m almost done with my Trick ORTreat box. You’ll get there! I did this a couple of years ago and just worked on ‘to do’ projects…it about killed me to not buy anything new! LOL Good luck!

  11. I know you can do it. I´ll try to do the same. I have so many projects I want to finish. Just need to buy some more fabrics and threads and then I´m good to go. Good luck to you Linda!!!

  12. You have some great stash there. And there’s a few there I have too. I’m about to sort my stash, but if you fancy a SAL, I’d be happy to SAL with you if it’s in my stash. Good luck.

  13. Pingback: Litla Skvís

  14. Oh! I LOVE that idea!!!! Thank you! I’ll try to implement that!!!

  15. nana

    You are off to a good start..
    Becky does inspire doesn’t she..
    Humm that means I need to refine my stash and just narrow down for 2009 list.. lol
    I really love the “stocking” piece…

    Nana
    Fl
    http://nanascraper.blogspot.com/

  16. Pingback: Christmas Ornament Exchange | Litla Skvís

Leave a Reply

