Adrian’s Baby Surprise Jacket

I started this as a KAL (Knit-A-Long) project with my Icelandic knitting group, Garnaflækja (that means Tangled Yarns) on January 18th. I made an error and found out after some knitting that the yarn (the multicoloured one) I was using would not be enough to finish the whole thing, so I frogged it, bought additional yarn and started it again. I am super happy with it. It is going to be a gift for my little nephew that was born on December 23rd. His Christening is next Sunday so this is a perfect gift for him.

Baby Surprise Jacket

Baby Surprise Jacket

Baby Surprise Jacket

Baby Surprise Jacket

Baby Surprise Jacket

Baby Surprise Jacket

Baby Surprise Jacket
The project on Ravelry
Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket
Designer: Elizabeth Zimmermann
Yarn: Dalegarn Lerke in 5563 and Mirasol Yarn Hacho in 319
Needles: 3,5mm Circular Knit Picks

This was such a joy to knit. I think this pattern is such a “cult classic” that it should be almost mandatory to knit, if you are into knitting. And well, if you fancy it. I see many more of these in the future. Such a cute project for new babies. And living in Iceland, one can always use warm and soft jackets for the little ones. The yarns were very good to knit, especially the Mirasol Hacho. Absolutely amazing, joy to knit with! Now I want more of it, in other colours even though I like this one very much.

14 Comments

Filed under Clothes, Family, finish, gifts, Happy Dance, KAL, knitting, Other, photograpy, yarn

14 responses to “Adrian’s Baby Surprise Jacket

  1. Love the navy blue with that gold multicolored. Nice job!

  2. It’s beautiful! I love it!
    The colors look great together and the buttons are yummy!

  3. yndislegir litir, og fallegur glans á garninu. og svo er þessi peysa bara svo frábær í alla staði, hef gert hana áður og mun örugglega gera hana oftar.
    kv.Fríða

  4. What a classy little jacket for a little boy – he will be snug as a bug and look very cute too🙂

  5. Hi Linda, what a lovely job you’ve made of the jacket – really neat colours too🙂

  6. Snowy

    I am just starting to learn how to knit and I love how your project turned out! Thank you for sharing!

    Snowy

  7. Absolutely stunning, honey!!!! Do you need my measurements now??🙂

  8. You’re right! I should knit this. I’ve lurked around the Ravelry pages showing this pattern for quite a while.

    Yours is really lovely. I love the wooden buttons, too. What a lucky baby.

  9. Lovely jacket! I also have it in mind and probably will start knitting for my baby – just have to decide on colours.. Yours are great!

  10. Bhooma

    I love this jacket. Now I may have to knit this for my grandsons.

  11. thedunaways

    Oh my Linda that is just gorgeous sweetie. I crochet but I don’t think I can make anything like that for my new grandson.

  12. Peysan kemur ofsalega vel út í þessu garni. Ég á eftir að prufa þessa uppskrift einn daginn!

  13. Kathe G

    OMG!!! Is there nothing you cannot do — I have admired your needlework for some time and now the knitting is just too perfect. You are such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing.

  14. Mare

    Another stunning finish! Wonderful work and cleaver design.

Leave a Reply

