More eruptions.

As most of you probably know, the volcano eruption that I visited the other day has stopped. But instead we got another active one, in the same glacier, but much bigger.

Here are some incredible photos from the eruption site and the surrounding area. The one I visited the other day was tiny really, beautiful and tourist friendly. This one is definitely not. Air traffic has s topped as the ash could spreads over Europe. The company I am working for, as well as most airlines in Europe, are taking the hit.

Things are OK in the capital area where I am. If the wind starts blowing from the East we might get some ash over here. Things change every minute, it is scary. My heart and thoughts are with everyone that suffer from this. I am also crossing fingers that this will not wake up Katla, a big nasty volcano that has been sleeping since 1918. That volcano usually erupts once every 100 years or so, but everyone is hoping that it is not going to happen any time soon as the effects of that would be world wide since that eruption would be a hell of a lot bigger than this. There is also a chance of massive floods due to glacier melting if that happens. So yes, hoping hoping hoping that it does NOT happen. So far nothing is indicating that it will happen. Hopefully it will stay that way.

More pictures can be found in this photo pool on Flickr, but from the current one and the on I visited that has died down.

Here is a video on youtube.

Here is a video from an explosion in the eruption. It happens after about 6 seconds or so.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “More eruptions.

  1. Wow! What stunning photos. Glad to hear that you are well.

  2. Those are amazing photographs. I haven’t yet seen photos of people on the ground, in Iceland. How are the farmers doing? That sort of thing. So this was a nice group of pictures – and gorgeous photos.

    Take care of you and yours!

  3. Anja

    Thank you for the news. Great photos. Thank you for the links.
    I hope the best for you and all the people and the animals in Island.

    Liebe Grüße aus Deutschland von
    Anja

  4. Amazing pictures! Keep safe!

  5. Fingers crossed for you all that the rumblings die down – I work for an international airline here and know how disruptive it is to all our customers stuck in various parts of the globe. Hopefully history won’t repeat itself and the volcano will wait for another 100 years before blowing its top!

  6. I’ve been thinking about your volcano-trip ever since the media started talking about the ash cloud; wondering if it was the same one erupting… Now I know!
    I too hope that Katla will go on sleeping, but only time will tell… Good luck!

  7. Glad to hear you are ok! When I saw the news I kept thinking about you but I haven’t been on line much. Keep you and your family in my prayers that everyone stays safe!

  8. Sandy

    Wow Linda, those are really scary. I am glad that you are far away from them. I hope that the big one does not erupt.

  9. Hi Linda,

    Incredible photos. Hearing about this on the
    news is one thing. To see these photos makes
    everything so much more real and intense and
    scary.

    Hope that all continues to be well with you and
    with all the folk living in the area of this volcano
    with no further eruptions.

    Cheers!

  10. Ann

    Hi there,

    I discovered your site on searching some biscornu photos on flickr 🙂

    I love reading about your stitching and knitting project and love the idea of finding someone in Iceland.

    You have two beautifull girls (I’m also mother to two girls aged 4 1/2 and 2).

    I’ve seen on your blog that you’ve got a christmas three design that I like a lot. Are you willing to share (I contacted Eliza and she said no problem – only condition is to send some small stitchy things).

    I shall be following your blog more often – I would like to learn knitting but have some “cold water” fright 🙂

    Kind greetings,
    Ann Somers
    Belgium

  11. It’s been over a month. Hope you’re doing fine by now. That must had been pretty scary!

Leave a comment