Haruni for my mother

Ok. I caved. This was supposed to be a Christmas gift for my mother, but since I love giving gifts I couldn’t wait! I tried, and managed to do so for about 2 weeks. But then I just couldn’t wait any longer, so when she came to my house on Sunday, I dug it out and handed it over. I wish I had taken a picture of the look on her face. She knew I was making it for her, she picked out the yarn and agreed on the pattern, but she didn’t know I had finished it. I hope it keeps her warm, and that she feels all the love that was poured into every stitch. It was a pure joy to knit, and an even more joy to give.

Haruni

Haruni

Haruni

Haruni

Haruni

Haruni

Haruni

Haruni

Pattern: Haruni by Emily Ross
Yarn: Urban GypZ Merino Lace
Needle: 3mm
Project on Ravelry

The name Haruni means Grandmother in Quenya, Tolkien’s elven language.

Haruni in construction

Since this was my first lace project ever, I was a bit nervous and insecure about it. I used the stitch markers that me and Rósa make under the name Little Lillies and Roses. It really helped to put them between pattern repeats! I had tried knitting the lace without them but I kept frogging over and over again!

Now, let’s hope I do not cave and give away any more Christmas presents before Christmas!

3 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Clothes, Family, finish, free patterns, gifts, Happy Dance, knitting, life, stitch markers, yarn

3 responses to “Haruni for my mother

  1. Beautiful! I love giving presents early too. I always end up giving the dude present as soon as I buy them/make them rather than waiting for The.Day. But even more I love *getting* presents early. And then on the day. And then after the day… ;P

  2. What a beautiful thing this is!! You did a gorgeous job on the lace – unbelievable for your first lace. It gets easier as you get used to it. I’m sure your mother is totally thrilled and happy.

  3. I was scrolling through this post with Oooooooohs and Aaaaaaaaahs. It’s just divine.

Leave a Reply

