Citron Shawl

This was a Christmas gift for my very good friend Lilja. I did not manage to get pictures of it before I gave it to her as I cast of, washed and blocked it on the 23rd of December. So it was barely dry when I wrapped it and gave it to her on the 24th of December. She just came over today with some delicious bread and goods from the bakery and we had coffee and talked and she did bring the shawl with her so I could finally take pictures of it. It was really hard to take decent photos of it, both because of the previously mentioned lack of daylight, and the colours of the yarn. So I had to pull out my Photoshop skills (hah!) and do my best.

Citron3

Citron1

Citron2
Pattern: Citron by Hilary Smith Callis
Yarn: Spinning a Yarn Fibre Club – handspun by my friend Ágústa
Needles: 3mm

This was a very easy pattern, with a beautiful end result. The handspun yarn is just incredible. The pictures do not do it enough justice! The colours are much more vibrant and beautiful in person, but I guess you are just going to have to take my word for it.

Now I am off to take down the Christmas decorations and pack them in boxes, clean and try and enjoy the weekend after a very crazy week. I hope you all have a great weekend!

6 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Clothes, finish, free patterns, Friends, gifts, Happy Dance, knitting, photograpy, yarn

6 responses to “Citron Shawl

  1. That is a stunning shawl. The colors are beautiful. Very nice work and what a lovely gift.

  2. Beautiful work, and what lovely yarn – well done!

  3. Anja

    What a nice work, lovely colors !
    You have to knit it again for yourself. In every day use, it is a really fantastic shawl. I knit my citron with “Manos Lace” (del Uruguay) two skeins in a petrol color.
    In our knitting group, this pattern was often knitted, because we are talking and laughing so much, so that we have problems with complicated pattern.
    For me Citron pattern is easy, but it is fun.
    Liebe Grüße aus Deutschland von
    Anja

  4. Crossed Yarns

    Gorgeous Shawl! Wishing you and yours a happy and creative year in 2011
    Pokua

  5. Colleen

    That is beautiful!!! As always!!! ; )

  6. It’s beautiful. I love the blend of colors – and handspun. What a gift!

    True to my husband’s Icelandic tradition, we waited until the 6th of Jan. to take down our Christmas decorations. Sad to see them go, but nice to start a new year fresh.

Leave a Reply

