Hello! Anyone out there?

Hi! I have been MIA for a while now. Summer has been so very busy on all fronts. I have been working like a mad woman, knitting like a mad woman, crocheting like a mat woman and yarnstorming like a mad woman. Yes! So much going on.

I will update soon on my latest knitting and crochet projects, but for now I want to talk about the yarnstorming.
I have always loved this kind of art. I think it is urban and funky and fun and such a great way to express yourself. And another great part is that it does not ruin anything. If it needs to be removed, it only costs a pair of scissors. I did my first yarnstorming almost a year ago. It was just an experiment. I knitted a little sample and put it around a light post close to my house.

Yarn bombing

It is still there! I walk by it almost every day and it always makes me happy.

Off course my brain went straight into 5th gear and I just knew I had to do more of this. And I was thinking HUGE. I realized I needed a team. So I made a team. We call ourselves Reykjavík Underground Yarnstormers.

Our first mission was statues.
And one in daylight

Then we did a little something for Gay Pride.
#gaypride #yarnbombing #yarngraffiti #yarnstorming #crochet

And then we did The Yarn Bus.
IMG_2405

 

We were on the news here in Iceland. You can watch it if you click the link provided (in Icelandic off course, but at least you can see the bus live).
We got an article in The Reykjavík Grapevine that you can read here, page 18, in English.
We have gotten featured for this project in many places, here and here and here to name a few.

We are already planning a few other projects, so if you are interested, please keep an eye out for us!

This is so much fun. My head is going crazy with ideas for future projects and I only hope that I have the time and energy to complete as many of them as possible. I try my best to keep the team inspired and supported and I really hope they know how much I appreciate all their work. I could never have done this on my own. They totally rock!

5 Comments

Filed under crochet, Friends, knitting, life, Other, work, yarn, yarnstorming

5 responses to “Hello! Anyone out there?

  1. You’re an inspiration! The old ladies and I are planning to yarn(bomb) the library.

  2. That looks like great fun, and I’m sure it makes the world more colourful🙂

  3. gaman að lesa aftur póst frá þér og það var svaka gaman að taka þátt í strætóverkefninu!🙂

  4. I. LOVE. IT!!!!! SOOOOOOoooooo cool. I am so inspired. I MUST knit bomb something in my little town.

  5. Anna

    the bus is great! would definitely make me smile anytime, even on a rainy dark Monday morning

Leave a Reply

