Gifts given

My grandfather and his wife, Ása, both turned 80 years old this summer. They held a huge party for all their friends and families. It was wonderful day. Since I was extremely busy with work, I only finished my grandfathers gift on time and it felt wrong to show up with just his gift and nothing for her so I decided to finish her gift at my own pace, and pay them a visit when it was finished.

I finished her gift last weekend and today, me and my mom and my daughter Karítas went to visit them in their lovely home with their gifts.

Ása & Gulli
My grandfather and his wife Ása.

June Bunnies
Pattern: June Bunnies by Inese Andzane.
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Heritage Silk
Needles: 3mm

Órói
Pattern: Órói by Védís Jónsdóttir from Lopi #27
Yarn: Ístex Álafoss Lopi
Needles: 4.5mm and 6mm

My grandfather is one of the most incredible humans I know. He is full of patience and kindness and incredible talent. He is a bookbinder and always smells like old books (or, I say old books smell like him, and this is my favorite smell in the world). He loves telling stories and is full of them. He is always willing to help, he loves having his family around, he is always positive and playful. Even at eighty, his spirits are still high and being around him, you don’t notice his age at all. All those things can be said about his wife also. They have been together for 20+ years and are perfect for each other. Visiting them is something that I always enjoy, but never seem to do enough of. I am going to do more of it in the future, that’s for sure.

2 Comments

Filed under books, Clothes, Family, finish, gifts, Happy Dance, knitting, life, lopi, shawl, yarn

2 responses to “Gifts given

  1. The shawl is gorgeous and the lopapeysa beautiful.
    And it suits your grandparents perfectly🙂

  2. Many happy (late) returns to them both! You’ve made some really gorgeous gifts.

Leave a Reply

