Quicksilver, Gjöf and other things

I have some finishes to brag about today. I will just get straight to it.
Karítas came home from Czech Republic where she spent Easter with her father and their family. She was there for almost three weeks, and even though I should be used to this by now, this time was hard. I missed her like crazy and even more than usually so it was even sweeter to get her home and get those warm and loving cuddles from her.

Kertalogi for Karítas

2015-04-13 15.01.22-2Pattern: Kertalogi
Yarn: Osprey by Quince & Co in Pomegranate
Needles: 3.5 & 4.5mm

She loves her new hat and I think it looks great on her.

Last year, I was asked by my aunt’s husband to make her an Icelandic sweater – Lopapeysa. They live in California, so we thought that making it a bit lighter would be ideal. He looked at some patterns and designs and ended up picking out this one (Ravelry link) called Gjöf (Gift). The original is knitted with Álafoss lopi, that is bulky in weight and very think and way to warm for California. The yarn I had in mind is LamaUld and is Aran weight.
So. I recalculated the whole thing, did some pretty dramatic changes on the yoke also, and completely switched the colors around. I love the outcome. A light and feminine Lopapeysa that goes with basically anything. I am still waiting for photos of my aunt wearing it, but until that happens, here are a couple of shots of me modeling it.

2014-10-09_17.25.16_medium2

2014-10-09_17.25.39_medium2Pattern: Gjöf – heavily modified
Yarn: LamaUld from Strikkebogen.dk
Needles: 4.5 and 5mm

And then there is my latest shawl. There is always a shawl, right?
I love this one. The design is easy and simple and the outcome stunning. I picked neutral grey tones and made them pop with some red for the wedges. Classic and elegant. I have already used this shawl a lot and it is fast becoming a favorite of mine. This is the second design that I knit from Melanie and have already purchased a few more that I am excited to get to.

2015-04-04 11.04.27-2

2015-04-04 11.05.13-1

2015-04-04 11.04.36Pattern: Quicksilver by Melanie Berg
Yarn: Strikkebogen.dk Yaku
Needles: 4mm

Oh, and then there is Romi Hill’s MKAL 2015. I finished my clue yesterday and finished my first yarn. I am using up my orange colored leftover yarn and going for a gradient effect. The first yarn I finished was Hedgehog Fibers Sock in Rusty Nail, leftover from my Exploration Station shawl. The last three rows are knitted with Fjara from Handprjón, 100% Alpaca from Bolivia. You can’t really see the change yet, but I am super excited with how this is one is turning out.

Romi Hill MKAL 2015

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Quicksilver, Gjöf and other things

  1. Alltsaman svo fallegt og ég er líka mjög spennt að sjá litaþróunina í sjalinu. Gott að Karítas sé komin heim❤

  2. Fantastic Linda! I love the oranges and can see the gradient change. Your shawl is a beauty! Love the colours. Great work. 😀

Leave a Reply

