Two new sweaters

Recently I have fallen in love with a new yarn. This should not be news to anyone really, as I have a soft spot for all things wooly.

Selvstrik_lamauld_mange_farver-4 Lamawool from Strikkebogen, 50% wool and 50% lama, Aran weight.

It is just so soft and wonderful to work with. I have recently finished two sweaters with this wonderful yarn, and I am pretty sure that I will be making loads more. I want one for myself out of this yarn and already have some ideas as to what kind of sweater to make.

2014-07-22 18.16.21

2014-07-22 18.17.17Pattern: Loki by Ragnheiður Eiríksdóttir (with some changes that are mine)
Yarn: Strikkebogen.dk Lamauld
Needles: 3.5 and 4.5mm

This little cardigan is a gift to my daughter Karítas’s baby sister who is now almost 9 months old. I made the sweater to fit about a 12 month old baby and I did some changes to the yoke pattern, adding a bit more color in there. I am very happy with how it turned out and can’t wait to see her wear it.

2014-07-22 18.10.50-2

2014-07-22 18.13.06-2

2014-07-22 18.12.10-1Pattern: Var by Védís Jónsdóttir (from Lopi 29)
Yarn: Strikkebogen.dk Lamauld
Needle: 4.5mm

This later one, here modeled by my daughter Sumarrós, is for Markéta, my daughters baby sisters mother. I was honored and happy when she asked me to make her a traditional Icelandic wool sweater and she came with me to pick out the yarn that she wanted. I was very happy when she picked the Lamauld and I was intrigued by the color choices. It turned out absolutely beautiful and I am very excited to see how it will look on her.

They all (my daughter Karítas, her baby sister, their dad and my daughters step mom) come back to Iceland in August, so the sweaters are just waiting here patiently. Maybe I will get to have another photo session with them both wearing the sweaters, that would be great!

6 Comments

Filed under Clothes, Family, finish, Friends, gifts, Happy Dance, knitting, life, photograpy, yarn

6 responses to “Two new sweaters

  1. You do such beautiful work. Love the green and brown.

  2. C in DC

    Your knitting is so beautiful. I love both sweaters, but the brown and green one is particularly stunning.

  3. Æðislegar peysur. Nú langar mig að prufa þetta garn, virkar svo kósí 🙂

Leave a comment